Board of Directors

Dr. Gordon Baty
Chairman of the Board

Dr. Baty is a retired director and founder of ZeroStage Capital, a venture capital firm, and has extensive experience in industrial management and finance, especially in the formation and financing of high tech ventures. Dr. Baty holds PhD (Finance), BS and MS from MIT Sloan School.

Dr. Robert Ledoux
President, CEO and Director

Dr. Ledoux was Associate Professor of Physics at MIT until 1990. He subsequently founded RSA (medical instruments), where he managed the company from start-up to profitability developing and bringing to market high technology products, including the XKnife therapeutic radiation therapy system. Most recently, as Vice President of Pyramid Technical Consultants, he developed control algorithms and hardware used in semiconductor manufacturing equipment. He holds B.S. and PhD (Physics) degrees from MIT.

Professor William Bertozzi
Founder and Director

Professor Bertozzi is the inventor of the NRFI technology. He is a Professor of Physics, Emeritus, at MIT and founder and developer of the Bates Linear Accelerator Center, where he served as Head of Research Operations. He now heads the Nuclear Interactions Group of LNS at MIT and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He holds B.S. and PhD (Physics) from MIT.

Mr. Mark A. Lester

Mr. Lester joined the company’s board of directors in 2008. He is Managing General Partner of Provenance Venture Partners, LLC, a venture investment firm and Managing Director of Forge Partners, LLC, a technology commercialization services, venture creation and investment management company. Mr. Lester received a B.S.E. in Naval architecture and Marine Engineering from the University of Michigan, a Masters in Management from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management, and was certified Chief Engineer of Navy Nuclear Propulsion Plants while serving as a U.S. Navy Nuclear Submarine Officer.

Dr. Leo Guthart

Dr. Guthart has had observer status on the board since the Company’s founding and became a director in 2007. He is the founder and Managing Partner of Topspin Partners, LP and Topspin Associates, LP. He currently serves as a board member of the Aptar Group. He is a member of the Board of Trustees of Hofstra University, where he served as Chairman from 1993-1996, and is a Trustee of the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory. He has served as the Chairman of Cylink Corporation, a board member of Symbol Technologies, and as a Trustee for the Acorn Group of Funds. He received his A.B. in Physics from Harvard College and his MBA from Harvard Business School. He received a Doctorate from Harvard Business School with a specialty in Corporate Finance and served on the faculty where he was a Ford Foundation Fellow.

Mr. Mike Powell

Mr. Powell is a Managing Partner and Co-Founder of Thematic Capital Partners, LLP. Mr. Powell is the former Global Head of Markets for HSBC and a member of HSBC’s Group Executive Committee. A seasoned Global Macro investor with extensive strategic management experience, and excellent contacts amongst senior Hedge Fund managers, bankers and regulators. He serves as a non-executive director of Jadwa Investments. Mr. Powell has also served as a senior Advisor to Moore Capital.

Mr. Nicholas Harvey

Mr. Harvey has had observer status on the board since the Company’s founding and became a director in 2007. He is CFO of Centrexion Therapeutics Corporation and Managing Director of Shiprock Capital and previously served as CFO of Radius Health, Transfusion Technologies and Transcend Therapeutics. He holds an undergraduate degree in Economics, a law degree with first-class honors from the Australian National University, and an MBA from the Harvard Business School.

Mr. James Shields

Mr. Shields is a consultant who works with technology companies to refine their technical and business strategies. He also provides advice to the U.S, Defense Department as a member of both the Defense and Army Science Boards. He was formerly the President of The Charles Stark Draper Laboratory, Inc., an independent not-for-profit research institution that develops innovative solutions to the nation’s most difficult problems in national security and space. He previously spent 28 years at TASC in several management positions most recently as VP Strategic Development. He holds a BS and MS in Electrical Engineering from MIT.